All News


The North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives (NDAREC) recognized Richard Schlosser, director of Dakota Valley Electric Cooperative, with the Cooperative Leadership Award at its annual meeting on Jan. 21, 2020. For the past 25 years, Schlosser has represented cooperatives in many leadership roles, working to advance North Dakotans and their livelihoods. He has served his local electric cooperative board with distinction for 26 years, serving as chairman for the past six years.

National Farmers Union President Roger Johnson endorsed Schlosser for the award, saying, “During the many years I have known Richard, I have witnessed his deep caring and concern for his family, his community and the people of North Dakota, which is manifest in his decades of service to organizations that advance the livelihoods of rural North Dakotans.”

In his first ten years as an electric cooperative director, Schlosser helped guide his cooperative in making three major and successful decisions – the 2000 consolidation between RSR Electric Cooperative and James Valley Electric Cooperative; the 2003 construction of the $40 million North Dakota Wind Energy Center; and the 2005 resource-sharing agreement between Dakota Valley Electric Cooperative and Northern Plains Electric Cooperative.

“Richard exemplifies the cooperative values and principles. He has been a staunch advocate for the cooperative business model and improving the quality of life in rural communities. I’ve personally had the privilege of working alongside Richard on behalf of cooperatives. It is an honor to present him with this award,” says NDAREC General Manager and Executive Vice President Josh Kramer.

North Dakota’s electric cooperatives congratulate Schlosser on receiving this recognition and thank him for his years of service to his cooperative and community.

Every year, NDAREC recognizes individuals for their generous contributions to North Dakota’s electric cooperatives and the communities they serve. An eight-member committee of the NDAREC board of directors selects award recipients from nominations submitted by NDAREC’s members, which includes 16 electric distribution cooperatives and five generation and transmission cooperatives.

NDAREC is the statewide trade association for 16 electric distribution cooperatives and five generation and transmission cooperatives operating in North Dakota. The distribution cooperatives provide electricity to nearly 250,000 North Dakotans. NDAREC services include legislative advocacy, line worker safety training and professional development services, cooperative business development and communication services including publication of the North Dakota Living magazine.