All News

Former Nodak Electric Cooperative director recognized for cooperative leadership 

BISMARCK, N.D. — The North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives (NDAREC) recognized Paul Sigurdson, former director of Nodak Electric Cooperative, with the Cooperative Leadership Award at its annual meeting Jan. 19.

Minnkota Power Cooperative President and CEO Mac McLennan endorsed Sigurdson for the award, saying, “One of Paul’s greatest strengths as a board member is his inquisitive nature. He was always well-read, informed and enthusiastic about any opportunity to help the cooperative program. His thoughtful and articulate questions and comments helped create a culture of engagement with our board. He was active in attending all cooperative events and was a mainstay at legislative rallies and other national gatherings. Paul’s member-driven, commonsense approach to policy issues resonated with lawmakers from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington, D.C.”

For the past 30 years, Sigurdson was a dedicated board member of Nodak Electric Cooperative, serving in all board leadership positions and on many committees. During his time on the Board, Sigurdson was instrumental in moving several important projects forward, including a successful merger with Sheyenne Valley Electric Cooperative; the establishment of a cooperative-owned satellite TV business, which was later sold at a profit; and the construction of a new headquarters building.

In addition to serving on Nodak’s Board of Directors, Sigurdson also served on the board of Square Butte Electric Cooperative for 19 years.

“Paul exemplifies the cooperative values and principles. As an engaged board member, he was a staunch advocate for the cooperative business model and always put the member first. It is an honor to present him with this award,” says NDAREC General Manager and Executive Vice President Josh Kramer.

North Dakota’s electric cooperatives congratulate Sigurdson on receiving this recognition and thank him for his years of service to his cooperative and community.

Every year, NDAREC recognizes individuals for their generous contributions to North Dakota’s electric cooperatives and the communities they serve. An eight-member committee of the NDAREC board of directors selects award recipients from nominations submitted by NDAREC’s members, which includes 16 electric distribution cooperatives and five generation and transmission cooperatives.

NDAREC is the statewide trade association for 16 electric distribution cooperatives and five generation and transmission cooperatives operating in North Dakota. The distribution cooperatives provide electricity to nearly 250,000 North Dakotans. NDAREC services include legislative advocacy, lineworker safety training, professional development, cooperative business development and communication services, including publication of the North Dakota Living magazine.